Cancel, refund, or unpublish events
Cancel individual bookings or entire events, process refunds, or remove an event from public view without cancelling it.
These actions are available to users with Manager or Admin permissions and to users with custom roles that include the appropriate permissions.
Cancel an individual booking:
Cancel a booking when an individual can no longer attend an event.
-
Open the event in Staff View.
-
View the current bookings.
-
Select the red X next to the booking you want to cancel.
-
Select Cancel Booking.
-
Select Close.
Cancel an Event
Cancel an event when it will no longer take place.
-
Select the event.
-
Select Edit Event.
-
(Optional) In the Cancel Event section, enter an additional message.
-
Select Cancel Event.
Bookings associated with an email address in the LMS receive a cancellation email.
Attendees without an email address must be contacted manually.
-
If necessary, process refunds for affected bookings.
You can uncancel an event. However, attendees are not notified that the event is taking place again.
Unpublish an Event
Unpublish an event to hide it from public view without canceling the event or its existing bookings. Staff can continue to view the event and make bookings.
-
Select the event.
-
Select Edit Event.
-
Select Unpublish below the event information.
-
To make the event publicly available again, edit the event and select Publish Event.
Existing bookings remain associated with an unpublished event.
You can also create an event as private from the outset. Private events do not appear on the events calendar homepage and are accessible through a direct link.
Issue a Refund
Depending on the payment and refund configuration, refunds may be processed automatically or require action from staff.
For refunds that require manual processing:
-
View the current bookings for the event.
-
Select the red X next to the attendee's name.
-
Review the member information in the dialog.
-
Select Cancel Booking.
-
Select Close.
If the member paid at a branch, cancel the booking using the same process.
-
Locate the booking in the Canceled Bookings list.
-
After the refund has been issued, select Mark as Refunded.
-
Select Confirm Refund.
-
Select Close.
Use the booking Source to help identify how the booking was made. Hover over Mark as Refunded for instructions or Refunded for additional information.
A member can cancel a booking and receive a refund from their account when they paid online and cancel within the refund deadline.